Shoreline School Board

  • The Shoreline School Board is a local board, established by the Washington State Legislature. Although each of the five members comes from a different geographical area in the district, all board members are elected by all Shoreline and Lake Forest Park voters. Board members serve a four-year term.

    The Board's primary task is to formulate and evaluate all policies necessary for the operation of the school district. The Board's legal responsibilities are to:

    • establish general policy for the school district
    • adopt and revise the annual operating budget
    • select the Superintendent of Schools
    • employ school personnel upon the recommendation of the Superintendent
    • exercise the power to administer schools conferred by the state legislature
    • keep the public informed on the needs and progress of the education system.

    The Shoreline School Board encourages the public to take an active part in the educational affairs of the district and extends an invitation to the community to attend school board meetings. All board meetings are open to the public, with the exception of executive sessions where personnel, property acquisition or sales, and collective bargaining matters are discussed.

    Regular board meetings begin at 7:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Shoreline Center.  If an executive session is needed, it is typically held at the end of the meeting. The Board also holds study sessions as needed. These are generally held on selected Mondays in Room D105 at the Shoreline Center prior to the regular meeting. In the spring, the board sets a meeting schedule for the summer and following school year.  It is sometimes necessary to change or add to the meeting schedule. Verification of the meeting date, time, and the agenda can be obtained by calling the School Board Office, 206.393.4203.

    Written communications to the Board or Superintendent should be sent to Shoreline Public Schools, Attention:  School Board, 18560 1st Ave. N.E., Shoreline WA 98155. Persons wishing to contact individual Board members may do so by clicking on their names below the pictures above. Persons wishing to contact the entire Board by email may do so at The Superintendent, who serves as Secretary to the Board, is also included in that email group. The Superintendent can also be reached individually by email at

    . Written and email communication to the Board will be responded to by the Board President on behalf of the entire Board.

Attending a School Board Meeting

School Board Members

  • Meghan Jernigan
    Meghan Jernigan
    District #1

    Oath of Office: December 9, 2019

    Next Election: November 7, 2023

    Email Director Jernigan



    David Wilson

    David Wilson (Vice President)
    District #3

    Oath of Office: November 30, 2005

    Next Election: November 2, 2021

    Email Director Wilson


    Sara Betnel

    Sara Betnel
    District #5

    Oath of Office: December 9, 2019

    Next Election: November 7, 2023

    Email Director Betnel


  • Heather Fralick

    Heather Fralick (President)
    District #2

    Oath of Office: December 4, 2017

    Next Election: November 2, 2021

    Email Director Fralick


    Rebeca Rivera

    Rebeca Rivera
    District #4

    Oath of Office: December 9, 2019

    Next Election: November 7, 2023

    Email Director Rivera

    Michael Crosson

    Michael Crosson
    Shorecrest Student Representative


    Cynthia Ruelas

    Cynthia Ruelas
    Shorewood Student Representative