Young Reader's Choice (YRC) Award

  • YRCA logo

    Young Reader's Choice Book Award

    Since 1940 young readers in the Pacific Northwest have been participating in the Young Reader’s Choice Award (YRCA). The award was established in 1940 by Harry Hartman, a Seattle bookseller, who believed every student should have an opportunity to select a book that gives him or her pleasure. The Young Reader’s Choice Award is sponsored by the Pacific Northwest Library Association and continues to be the longest-running children’s choice book award. It is also the only international award with young readers in both the United States and Canada participating in the program.


    Book Challenge for students in grades 4 and 5.


    How to participate:

    Read a book from this year's YRC Book Award Nominee List.

    That's it!

    You can start reading anytime!