District Social-Emotional Learning Curriculum Adoption Committee Purpose

  • This committee will review and select social-emotional learning materials that support the focus and coherence of the Washington State Social Emotional Learning Indicators, as well as support our vision for student learners as stated in the Shoreline Instructional Strategic Plan.

    The Curriculum Adoption Process

    Shoreline adoption guideOpens in New Window 



    • Phase 1: Fall 2019 - Learning and Research
    • Phase 2: Winter-Spring 2020 - Materials Review, Selection & Piloting
    • Phase 3: Spring 2020-Fall 2020 - Adoption Decision & Implementation Planning
    • Phase 4: Winter 2021- Implementation Year 1

    14 meetings this year from 4:00-6:00 PM:10/7, 10/21, 11/4, 11/18, 12/9, 1/6, 2/3, 3/9, 3/30, 4/13, 4/27, 5/11, 5/26, 6/8 at SLC in Room D-105


  • Team leads

    Heidi Alexander and Karena Valiquette

    Committee Members

    Elementary Teachers
    Donna Ahron, Jenica Itaya, Liz Whitney, Andrew Eller, Lisa Larsen, Michelle Hageland and Brent Allred

    Secondary Teachers
    Sara Haueter, Kathy Elwell and Amy Chertok

    Yuyan Lou, Tyan Hynes, Cher Anderton and Scott Shiebler

    Nara Kim and Kris Stojetz

    Classified Staff
    Laura Gygi-Gamble and Will Lewis

    District leadership
    Tanisha Felder and Jacqueline Estephan

    Jill Brown, Kim Kauffman, Kelley Flatters, Kathryn Zwack and Teresa Osborn

    Sadrina Dorn and Chris Mayer

    Community Member
    Lori Lynass

    Committee members serve in a strong SEL leadership role in their building during the implementation years.