American Library Association (ALA) Awards

  • Every year, the American Library Association honors the best in children's literature by presenting authors and illustrators with a variety of awards. 

    The 2018 Newbery winner is Hello, Universe, written by Erin Entrada Kelly.

    The 2018 Caldecott winner is Wolf in the Snow, illustrated and written by Matthew Cordel

    The 2018 Coretta Scott King winners are Piecing Me Together, written by Renée Watson (author award) and Out of Wonder: Poems Celebrating Poets, illustrated by Ekua Holmes (illustrator award).


    Below is information the Newbery, Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Pura Belpre, and the Mildred L. Batchelder awards.


    The John Newbery Award is given to ""the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children."


    The Randolph Caldecott Award is given to "the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children."


    The Coretta Scott King Awards are given to "recognize outstanding books for young adults and children by African American authors and illustrators that reflect the African American experience."

    Coretta Scott King Award

    The Pura Belpre Award "is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth."

     Pura Belpre

    The Mildren L. Batchelder Award is "awarded to an American publisher for a children's book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a foreign language in a foreign country, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States."